Happy Thanksgiving!

Thanksgiving is a wonderful time of the year, if not the most wonderful! When turkey day rolls around, prepare yourself for family, fun, and, of course, food. A personal favorite of mine: sweet potatoes. And let’s not forget mashed potatoes. And bread. And dressing/stuffing. And. . .well, the list goes on and on!

Every family celebrates Thanksgiving in a different way. My family tends to sleep in, eat a fatty breakfast, then cook like crazy, eat way too late in the afternoon, then be lazy for the rest of the day. Our traditions are pretty straightforward — but there must be mashed potatoes. If there aren’t good ol’ home-made mashed potatoes, then forget it. Thanksgiving just isn’t Thanksgiving!

But I think that we, as a culture, often forget what Thanksgiving is really about. Yes, the food is awesome, and the free time and relaxation are great. However, I think we get caught up in the eating, and forget that this is a holiday where we stop and consider: What are we thankful for?

Personally, I am thankful that I am free to worship God without fear of persecution. I am thankful that God is faithful. I am thankful for my amazingly patient parents. I am thankful for my special and sometimes-annoying siblings (whom I love with all my heart!). I am thankful for apple juice and bread and mashed potatoes. I am thankful for literature and music. I am thankful for my supportive, ridiculous, and goofy friends.

So, what are YOU thankful for?

Comments? Questions? Concerns? Please leave a reply!!!

